Discovering new new media and more

First Impressions

I’ve learned many times that first impressions are not always right.  In fact, my first impressions tend to be very wrong.  So, I won’t judge Google + too quickly.  However, I’ve had a hard time adjusting.  I found myself searching for Facebook familiar sights.  I wanted to ‘friend’ people instead of ‘follow’.  The circles were confusing at first as well.  I didn’t understand how to get myself in circles or get people in circles…it was just a mess for a while.  Eventually, I figured it out.  Then, since it was for my class, I had to check out the games.  Google + does have a nice selection of games.  The popular Angry Birds passes the time as well as the Pirate game that has taken up a good amount of my time.  All in all, I’m associating myself with this new social media site.

Facebook has been my constant companion for some time now, and it was interesting to read Paul Levinson’s chapter in New New Media.  Particularly, the section about online friends in the real world caught my eye.  I’ve never used Facebook as a place to meet new people.  It’s just been a way for me to connect to friends and family.  They were friends I already knew from school or had met first and then added to Facebook.  However, maybe I’m missing a big part of social media.  There are numerous sites set up to meet people online (such as eHarmony).  It’s convenient, simple, and removes many aspects that can ruin first impressions.  A connection is built and then a friendship can begin and eventually move to a face-to-face real world relationship.

Meeting people online can be dangerous (see To Catch a Predator) but it also can be very beneficial (see Match.com commericals).  I want to look more at online dating sites or others that specifically are used to search for friends.  What are the precautions that need to be taken?  How much can be hidden behind a computer screen?  What are the downfalls and what are the benefits?

All and any input is appreciated!

Comments on: "First Impressions" (1)

  1. I actually met my boyfriend online (through Facebook). I was thinking of writing a post about it, considering Levinson touched on the subject in his Facebook chapter. However, I agree that I never really thought of using Facebook to meet new people…it’s always been a way to stay in touch with friends (with the exception of what happened with my boyfriend, I guess).

Leave a comment